Skip to main content

Introduction to E-Enterprise

Watch our intro video to learn more about E-Enterprise for the Environment and our work to modernize the business of environmental protection.

Why E-Enterprise?

States, tribes and EPA share similar goals for the environment. Authority to implement environmental protection is also shared, making collaboration among the partners essential to ensuring that they can simultaneously address the following common goals and desires:

  • Establish a more collaborative relationship, while still respecting delegated program responsibilities;
  • Provide states and tribes the opportunity for early and meaningful engagement with EPA on key issues and decisions that affect implementation of delegated programs and primary jurisdictional authorities;
  • Incorporate the user’s perspective, improve customer service and institute business-friendly approaches;
  • Deliver environmental programs and services with greater efficiency and effectiveness by streamlining and simplifying processes;
  • Prevent or eliminate backlogs of agency actions and meet or beat required timelines for agency actions;
  • Avoid duplication of efforts and make the best use of limited resources;
  • Accomplish important environmental goals in the face of constrained, and sometimes decreasing, budgets; and
  • Achieve improved and measurable environmental progress and results.

Ben Grumbles, ECOS Executive Director and Former EELC State Co-Chair, discusses the value of E-Enterprise

Our Governing Bodies

E-Enterprise is managed through shared governance and collective conversation, negotiation, and direction-setting through which the states, tribes, and U.S. EPA work and decide together. This shared governance model is driving transformative reforms across the national enterprise of environmental protection. The E-Enterprise governance structure is comprised of several governing bodies. The E-Enterprise Leadership Council (EELC) provides high-level leadership and oversight, while day-to-day management is conducted by the Management Board (MB) and Interoperability and Operations Team (IOT).

E-Enterprise Leadership Council (EELC)

EELC responsibilities include identifying, soliciting, reviewing, and prioritizing E-Enterprise projects, identifying new and existing State and U.S. EPA resource investments needed to support these projects, and ensuring alignment of projects and program activities with E-Enterprise principles.

The EELC is composed of ten U.S. EPA Senior Executives (i.e., Deputy Administrator, Assistant and Regional Administrators or their Deputies), ten State Secretaries / Commissioners (or other high-level state officials), and ten Tribal members (elected officers or their designated employees). The Tribal Co-Chair and Tribal EELC members are selected through the Regional Tribal Operations Committees (RTOCS) or equivalents in each EPA region.

State

Jon Niermann
State Co-Chair
Texas CEQ

Elizabeth Biser
North Carolina DEQ

Jim Kenney
New Mexico ED

Mike Keyack
Arizona DEQ

Jim Macy
Nebraska DEE

Todd Parfitt
Wyoming DEQ

Victoria Phillips
Massachusetts DEP

Myra Reece
South Carolina DHEC

Phil Roos
Michigan EGLE

Kristin Ryan
Idaho DEQ

Tribal

Jerry Cain
Tribal Co-Chair
Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians – Region 4 Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC)

Marvin Cling
Passamaquoddy Tribe
of Indians – Region 1 RTOC

Shavonne Smith
Shinnecock Indian Nation – Region 2 Indian Nations

Leigh Mitchell
Upper Mattaponi Indian Tribe – Region 3 RTOC

Charlie Lippert
Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe – Region 5 RTOC

Christina Cooper
Comanche Nation – Region 6 RTOC

Tim Grant
Omaha Tribe of Nebraska – Region 7 RTOC

Gerald Wagner
Blackfeet Tribe – Region 8 RTOC

Anne Turcotte
La Posta Band of Mission Indians – Region 9 RTOC

Aaron Miles
Nez Perce Tribe – Region 10 RTOC

 

U.S. EPA

Janet McCabe
EPA Co-Chair
U.S. EPA Deputy Administrator

Faisal Amin
Office of the Chief Financial Officer

Benita Best-Wong
Office of Water

Rafael DeLeon
Office of International and Tribal Affairs

Vaughn Noga
Office of Mission Support

Chris Robbins
Office of Research and Development

Betsy Shaw
Office of Air and Radiation

Nigel Simon
Office of Land and Emergency Management

Mark A Smith
Region 8

Cecil Rodrigues
Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance

Other Governing Bodies

E-Enterprise and Exchange Network Management Board (MB)

E-Enterprise and Exchange Network Management Board (MB)

Along with the Interoperability and Operations Team (IOT), the E-Enterprise Management Board provides direct oversight and management of E-Enterprise projects and functions. Specific duties of the Management Board include implementing policy decision made by the EELC, identifying issues and agenda items for the Executive Committee and EELC, and identifying E-Enterprise project recommendations and priorities, including managing staff resources to efficiently and effectively support project teams.

Andrew Battin, U.S. EPA Co-Chair
U.S. EPA
202.566.2140
battin.andrew@epa.gov

Vacant, State Co-Chair

Vacant, Tribal Co-Chair

Brandon Burnett
State of Iowa
515.201.4965
brandon.burnett@iowa.gov

Frank Harjo
Muscogee (Creek) Nation
918.549.2510
fharjo@muscogeenation-nsn.gov

Lisa Matthews
U.S. EPA
202.564.6669
matthews.lisa@epa.gov

Christy Monk
Alabama DEM
334.394.4364
cvm@adem.alabama.gov

David Nicholas
U.S. EPA
202.566.1927
nicholas.david@epa.gov

Victoria Phillips
Massachusetts DEP
617.292.5956
victoria.phillips@state.ma.us

Linda D. Rosas-Bill
Habematolel Pomo of Upper Lake
707.275.0737
lrosas@hpultribe-nsn.gov

Gerald Wagner
Blackfeet Tribe
406.338.7421
gwagner@3rivers.net

Chet Wayland
U.S. EPA
919.541.4603
wayland.richard@epa.gov

Gigi Zywicki
U.S. EPA – Region 5
312.886.4571
zywicki.glynis@epa.gov

Vacant
U.S. EPA

E-Enterprise and Exchange Network Interoperability and Operations Team (IOT)

E-Enterprise and Exchange Network Interoperability and Operations Team (IOT)

Along with the Management Board, the Interoperability and Operations Team provides direct oversight and management of E-Enterprise projects and functions. The IOT’s specific focus is to support and guide design, interoperability, and operation of all technical aspects of E-Enterprise and Exchange Network. This includes shared services, standards, architecture, and infrastructure.

Niki Crewes, EPA Co-Chair
U.S. EPA
202.564.8553
crewes.monique@epa.gov

Vacant, State Co-Chair

Vince Allen
U.S. EPA
202.564.1675
allen.vince@epa.gov

Joe Carioti
U.S. EPA
703.308.7049
carioti.joe@epa.gov

David Charbonneau
U.S. EPA
703.347.8578
charbonneau.david@epa.gov

Eric Cleckler
Alabama DEM
334.271.7921
ecleckler@adem.alabama.gov

Ron Evans
U.S. EPA
919.541.5488
evans.ron@epa.gov

Steven Girt
Wyoming DEQ
307.777.7163
steve.girt@wyo.gov

April Hathcoat
Cherokee Nation
918.453.5098
ahathcoat@cherokee.org

Mike Matsko
New Jersey DEP
609.633.3843
mike.matsko@dep.state.nj.us

Andrea Smith
U.S. EPA
202.566.1809
smith.andrea@epa.gov

Thomas Waller
Ohio EPA
614.644.2981
thomas.waller@epa.state.oh.us

Herb Ward
Virginia DEQ
804.698.4316
herb.ward@deq.virginia.gov

Vacant
Tribal Representative

EPA Regional Contacts

U.S. EPA Regional E-Enterprise Coordinators

U.S. EPA Regional E-Enterprise Coordinators

The Regional E-Enterprise Coordinators work closely with states, tribes and U.S. EPA regional and program offices to promote awareness of E-Enterprise and spotlight best practices, encourage workload trade-offs and process improvement opportunities, and advance state and tribal priorities identified through E-Enterprise that are shared in common with the EPA.

Steve Boudrot
Region 1
617.918.1942
boudrot.steve@epa.gov

Barry Kaye
Region 2
212.637.3323
kaye.barry@epa.gov

Dorothy Swearingen
Region 3
215.814.3157
swearingen.dorothy@epa.gov

James Davies
Region 4
404.562.8232
davies.james@epa.gov

Allen Melcer
Region 5
312.886.1498
melcer.allen@epa.gov

Marie Stucky
Region 6
214.665.7560
stucky.marie@epa.gov

Amanda Halstead
Region 7
913.551.7827
halstead.amanda@epa.gov

Anthony DeLoach 
Region 8
303.312.6070
deloach.anthony@epa.gov

Michael Mann
Region 9
415.972.3505
mann.michael@epa.gov

Margo Young
Region 10
206.553.1287
young.margo@epa.gov

Lisa Comer
U.S. EPA Headquarters / Office of E-Enterprise
202.566.2206
comer.lisa@epa.gov

U.S. EPA Regional Exchange Network Coordinators

U.S. EPA Regional Exchange Network Coordinators

Ed Kim
Region 1
617.918.1945
kim.ed@epa.gov

Barry Kaye
Region 2
212.637.3323
kaye.barry@epa.gov

Virginia Thompson
Region 3
215.814.5755
thompson.virginia@epa.gov

Rock Taber
Region 4
404.562.8011
taber.rock@epa.gov

Glynis Zywicki
Region 5
312.886.4571
zywicki.glynis@epa.gov

Anthony Matthews
Region 6
214.665.8552
matthews.anthony@epa.gov

Cassandra Krul
Region 7
913.551.7808
krul.cassandra@epa.gov

Shawn Hernandez
Region 8
303.312.6494
hernandez.shawn@epa.gov

Karen Simpson
Region 8
simpson.karen@epa.gov

Wendy Fong
Region 9
415.972.3631
fong.wendy@epa.gov

Tim Siwiec
Region 10
206.553.2147
siwiec.tim@epa.gov

Resources

Shared Governance

Communications