Skip to main content

E-Enterprise for the Environment puts into practice cooperative federalism for environmental co-regulators. Through a shared governance model, environmental leaders at US EPA, States, and Tribes are using E-Enterprise to deliver better results, often with lower costs and less burden, for the benefit of the public, the regulated community and government agencies. E-Enterprise helps foster greater trust among these groups by improving data integrity and communication.

States, tribes and EPA share similar goals for the environment. Authority to implement environmental protection is also shared, making collaboration among the partners essential to ensuring that they can simultaneously address the following common goals and desires:

  • Establish a more collaborative relationship, while still respecting delegated program responsibilities;
  • Provide states and tribes the opportunity for early and meaningful engagement with EPA on key issues and decisions that affect implementation of delegated programs and primary jurisdictional authorities;
  • Incorporate the user’s perspective, improve customer service and institute business-friendly approaches;
  • Deliver environmental programs and services with greater efficiency and effectiveness by streamlining and simplifying processes;
  • Prevent or eliminate backlogs of agency actions and meet or beat required timelines for agency actions;
  • Avoid duplication of efforts and make the best use of limited resources;
  • Accomplish important environmental goals in the face of constrained, and sometimes declining, budgets; and
  • Achieve improved and measurable environmental progress and results.

Our Governing Bodies

E-Enterprise is managed through shared governance and collective conversation, negotiation, and direction-setting through which the states, territories, tribes, and U.S. EPA work and decide together. This shared governance model is driving transformative reforms across the national enterprise of environmental protection. The E-Enterprise governance structure is comprised of several governing bodies. The E-Enterprise Leadership Council (EELC) provides high-level leadership and oversight, while day-to-day management is conducted by the Management Board (MB) and Interoperability and Operations Team (IOT).

E-Enterprise Leadership Council (EELC)

EELC responsibilities include identifying, soliciting, reviewing, and prioritizing E-Enterprise projects, identifying new and existing State and U.S. EPA resource investments needed to support these projects, and ensuring alignment of projects and program activities with E-Enterprise principles.

The EELC is composed of ten U.S. EPA Senior Executives (i.e., Deputy Administrator, Assistant and Regional Administrators or their Deputies), ten State Secretaries / Commissioners (or other high-level state officials), and ten Tribal members (elected officers or their designated employees). The Tribal Co-Chair and Tribal EELC members are selected through the Regional Tribal Operations Committees (RTOCS) or equivalents in each EPA region.

State

Jim Macy
State Co-Chair
Nebraska DEQ

Ben Grumbles
Maryland Department of Environment

Becky Keogh
Arkansas DEQ

Patrick McDonnell
Pennsylvania DEP

Todd Parfitt
Wyoming DEQ

Victoria Phillips
Massachusetts DEP

Andy Putnam
Colorado DPHE

Myra Reece
South Carolina DHEC

Scott Thompson
Oklahoma DEQ

Tribal

Micco Emarthla
Tribal Co-Chair
Seneca-Cayuga Nation –
Region 6

Marvin Cling
Passamaquoddy Tribe of
Indians – Region 1

Jerry Cain
Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians – Region 4

Alisha Bartling
Santee Sioux Nation –
Region 7

Gerald Wagner
Blackfeet Tribe – Region 8

Lisa Gover
Campo Band of Kumeyaay Indians – Region 9

Dean Adams
Burns Paiute Tribal Council – Region 10

U.S. EPA

Henry Darwin
U.S. EPA Co-Chair
Office of the Administrator

Benita Best-Wong
Office of Water

David Bloom
Office of the Chief Financial Officer

Ed Chu
Region 7

David Hindin
Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance

Vaughn Noga
Office of Environmental Information

Betsy Shaw
Office of Air and Radiation

Nigel Simon
Office of Land and Emergency Management

Deb Szaro
Region 1

Louise Wise
Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention

Other Governing Bodies

E-Enterprise Executive Committee (EEEC)

E-Enterprise Executive Committee (EEEC)

The E-Enterprise Executive Committee (EEEC) develops agendas for the EELC meetings and calls, and ensures regular and direct interaction between the strategic and tactical aspects of the initiative.

Andrew Battin
U.S. EPA

Vaughn Noga
U.S. EPA, Office of Environmental Information

Ed Chu
U.S. EPA – Region 7

Henry Darwin
U.S. EPA

Micco Emarthla
Seneca-Cayuga Nation – Region 6

Becky Keogh
Arkansas DEQ

Andrew Putnam
Colorado DPHE

Chris Simmers
New Hampshire DES

Todd Parfitt
Wyoming DEQ

E-Enterprise and Exchange Network Management Board (MB)

E-Enterprise and Exchange Network Management Board (MB)

Along with the Interoperability and Operations Team (IOT), the E-Enterprise Management Board provides direct oversight and management of E-Enterprise projects and functions. Specific duties of the Management Board include implementing policy decision made by the EELC, identifying issues and agenda items for the Executive Committee and EELC, and identify E-Enterprise project recommendations and priorities, including managing staff resources to efficiently and effectively support project teams.

Andrew Battin, U.S. EPA Co-Chair
U.S. EPA
202.566.2140
battin.andrew@epa.gov

Andrew Putnam, State Co-Chair
Colorado DPHE
303.692.3579
andrew.putnam@state.co.us

Brandon Burnett
State of Iowa
515.201.4965
brandon.burnett@iowa.gov

Mia Theresa Comeros
American Samoa Environmental Protection Agency
684.633.2304
mia.comeros@epa.as.gov

John Dombrowski
U.S. EPA
202.566.0742
dombrowski.john@epa.gov

Sharon Gonder
U.S. EPA
202.564.5256
gonder.sharon@epa.gov

Frank Harjo
Muscogee (Creek) Nation
918.549.2510
fharjo@muscogeenation-nsn.gov

Arnold Layne
U.S. EPA
703.347.8222
layne.arnold@epa.gov

Matthew Leopard
U.S. EPA
202.566.1698
leopard.matthew@epa.gov

Lisa Matthews
U.S. EPA
202.564.6669
matthews.lisa@epa.gov

Christy Monk
Alabama DEM
334.394.4364
cvm@adem.alabama.gov

Mary Montoya
New Mexico Environment Department
505.476.3090
maryh.montoya@state.nm.us

David Nicholas
U.S. EPA
202.566.1927
nicholas.david@epa.gov

Victoria Phillips
Massachusetts DEP
617.292.5956
victoria.phillips@state.ma.us

Linda D. Rosas-Bill
Habematolel Pomo of Upper Lake
707.275.0737
lrosas@hpultribe-nsn.gov

Chris Simmers
New Hampshire DES
603.271.2961
chris.simmers@des.nh.gov

Roy Walker
Oklahoma DEQ
405.702.0116
roy.walker@deq.ok.gov

Chet Wayland
U.S. EPA
919.541.4603
wayland.richard@epa.gov

Bob Zimmerman
Delaware DNREC
302.739.9000
robert.zimmerman@state.de.us

Gigi Zywicki
U.S. EPA – Region 5
312.886.4571
zywicki.glynis@epa.gov

State Vacancy (1)

E-Enterprise and Exchange Network Interoperability and Operations Team (IOT)

E-Enterprise and Exchange Network Interoperability and Operations Team (IOT)

Along with the Management Board, the Interoperability and Operations Team provides direct oversight and management of E-Enterprise projects and functions. The IOT’s specific focus is to support and guide design, interoperability, and operation of all technical aspects of E-Enterprise and Exchange Network. This includes shared services, standards, architecture, and infrastructure.

Matthew Leopard, U.S. EPA Co-Chair
U.S. EPA
202.566.1698
leopard.matthew@epa.gov

Chris Simmers, State Co-Chair
New Hampshire DES
603.271.2961
chris.simmers@des.nh.gov

Vince Allen
U.S. EPA
202.564.1675
allen.vince@epa.gov

Dennis Burling
Nebraska DEQ
402.471.4214
dennis.burling@nebraska.gov

Joe Carioti
U.S. EPA
703.308.7049
carioti.joe@epa.gov

David Charbonneau
U.S. EPA
703.347.8578
charbonneau.david@epa.gov

Eric Cleckler
Alabama DEM
334.394.4345
ecleckler@adem.state.al.us

Ron Evans
U.S. EPA
919.541.5488
evans.ron@epa.gov

Steven Girt
Wyoming DEQ
307.777.7163
steve.girt@wyo.gov

April Hathcoat
Cherokee Nation
918.453.5098
ahathcoat@cherokee.org

Mike Matsko
New Jersey DEP
609.633.3843
mike.matsko@dep.state.nj.us

Verne McFarland
U.S. EPA
mcfarland.verne@epa.gov

BryAnna Vaughan
Bishop Paiute Tribe
760.873.3584
bryanna.vaughan@bishoppaiute.org

Stephen Vineski
U.S. EPA
202.564.1356
vineski.steve@epa.gov

Thomas Waller
Ohio EPA
614.644.2981
thomas.waller@epa.state.oh.us

Herb Ward
Virginia DEQ
804.698.4316
herb.ward@deq.virginia.gov

Other E-Enterprise Contacts

U.S. EPA Regional E-Enterprise Coordinators

U.S. EPA Regional E-Enterprise Coordinators

The Regional E-Enterprise Coordinators work closely with states, tribes and U.S. EPA regional and program offices to promote awareness of E-Enterprise and spotlight best practices, encourage workload trade-offs and process improvement opportunities, and advance state and tribal priorities identified through E-Enterprise that are shared in common with the EPA.

Allen Melcer (Co-Lead)
Region 5
312-886-1498
melcer.allen@epa.gov

Anthony DeLoach (Co-Lead)
Region 8
303-312-6070
deloach.anthony@epa.gov

Sheryl Rosner
Region 1
617-918-1865
rosner.sheryl@epa.gov

Kevin Hurley
Region 2
212-637-3420
hurley.kevin@epa.gov

Theresa P. Johnson
Region 3
215-814-5284
johnson.theresap@epa.gov

James Davies
Region 4
404-562-8232
davies.james@epa.gov

Olivia Balandran
Region 6
214-665-7257
balandran.olivia-r@epa.gov

Wendy Lubbe
Region 7
913-551-7551
lubbe.wendy@epa.gov

Nicole Moutoux
Region 9
415-972-3012
moutoux.nicole@epa.gov

Margo Young
Region 10
206-553-1287
young.margo@epa.gov

Lisa Comer
U.S. EPA Headquarters / Office of E-Enterprise
202-566-2206
comer.lisa@epa.gov

 

Foundational Documents